Medicare drug plan consumer ratings
Part D Medicare Plan Ratings, Reviews and Forums
 
Medicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan forums
  

AARP MedicareRx Preferred  - AL, TN  (See Reviews of this Plan from Other Regions)
Overall Rating: 

What to expect:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

  
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Goggies Date Rated: 10/11/2014 12:00:59 PM

I cannot take a synthetic thyroid hormone drug. Armour Thyroid is the only thing that works for me, and yet it is NOT covered by this plan. Why NOT???

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: grosen Date Rated: 2/8/2014 8:35:06 AM

I just started this plan January 1, 2014. They misrepresented my copays when I originally did research. They created hurdles for a medication I have taken for 10 years, having gone through the 3-step failed trial schedule back then. They bounce me to the pharmacy who bounces me back to the plan. I can't wait for the year to run out so that I can leave this truly horrific company.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: 6sz4oed1 Date Rated: 5/5/2013 7:42:37 PM

OptumRX ships quickly, but can't keep the money straight. Had a $140 credit, had to dispute this charge with credit card co. to get this resolved. Have raised the tier level of generic drugs and Most of my drugs cost less at cash price than copay. Try to steer us to use National drug chain stores rather than local pharmacies (much higher copay for local). First year was great, second year was so-so, this year bad. We are paying more than they are for our meds. You can complain, but it does no good. Goes no further than rep you are speaking to. I have mailed written complaints, no response, and have called numerous times. We will be changing after this year

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: jjensen Date Rated: 4/20/2013 6:45:18 PM

Have used Optumrx and have had no issues. I have never had problems with getting someone on the phone and use the web to order most of the time. Even when they need to call the doctor on a expired prescription, they have taken care of me.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: gopownj Date Rated: 12/24/2012 3:34:19 PM

TERRABLE TERRABLE TERRABLE there is no communication between OptumRX and my doctor mor my wife or me. We have nearly run out of our prescriptions on seve4ral occaisions. Did not have this p[roblem when Prescription solutions was the carrier. Will be swithcing from AARP as soon as allowable/

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: fraud Date Rated: 11/30/2012 6:34:06 PM

Brand name meds have been elevated to expensive co-pay tiers encouraging patients to use less costly generic meds. Eleven months of study disclosed the plan paid less for their monthly share than my monthly premiums. Generic meds may be comparable to brand name med, but that is not the same as being equivalent. An aware physician should be able to prescribe the drug/med of his choice for patient w/out lengthy telephone calls or paperwork or step-down procedure that can have harmful effect for patient. The formulary provided in late fall is not accurate, oft has false coverage drug information. By time the patient discovers in the new year, or formulary changes in the new year (oft w/out notice) the patient cannot opt out of plan with freedom to choose another. A large of percentage of elderly are on fixed income, not eligible for assistance, face 6% increase in drug cost, need a plan that meets the promise made to it's constituents. Have found thru other dealings with the contract agency, United Health, there are fraudulent in dealings.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: 2muchinfo Date Rated: 11/16/2012 7:27:23 PM

I use the mail order pharmacy, Prescription Solutions, for my maintenance medications. Each time I have tried to use them, I have had problems. I have had to make repeated calls to get my medication. They always assure me the medicine has been shipped and when I don't get it and have to call back again, they don't know what has happened and say they have taken care of the problem, yet again. It took me a solid month to get one of my meds which is ridiculous. So, to avoid all the hassle, I normally just use my local pharmacy and forego the cost savings. Thinking about changing this year for this reason!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: SMC Date Rated: 11/4/2012 3:59:06 PM

I HAVE PAID MUCH MORE FOR MY DRUGS THAN THEY HAVE. I AM WONDERING WHAT THE PENALTY IS FOR NOT GETTING MEDICARE D. ONE OF MY DRUGS IS ON THE FORMULARY BUT IT IS A TIER 3, BUT THE COST IS BELOW THE START OF TIER 3 SO AARP PAYS NOTHING. I FEEL THIS IS A SWITCH AND BAIT GAME WITH THIS COVERAGE.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Lee Date Rated: 12/28/2010 9:29:06 PM

I have had this plan since it became available,and have not had the first problem to date.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: jojo Date Rated: 12/7/2009 10:17:25 AM

I had this policy for 2 years now and have renewed it for 2010. Best I could fine.I really like it. No problems at all.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: nkscheid Date Rated: 11/7/2007 6:42:46 PM

My dad's doctor has prescribed home health care for him. I called the insurance company to get a home health agency that accepts United Healthcare insurance. They gave a name. I called, they said they no longer accept United Healthcare. Cancelled their contract because United doesn't pay. I called United Healthcare back. They gave me the run around....but also told me that the home health agency that I called is the only one in my county that is contracted with United. I called Dad's Dr. to tell her the problem I was having. She stated that they too were no longer going to accept United because of lack of payment. My dad is 87 years old and changing doctors is the last thing he needs right now. Why can't these insurance companies just pay on time (like we have to do). BOTTOM LINE IS THE INSURANCE COMPANY OFFERS HOME HEALTH CARE AS A BENEFIT, BUT WHEN YOU TRY TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE BENEFIT, THEY HAVE NO HOME HEALTH AGENCY UNDER CONTRACT TO PROVIDE THE SERVICE. This is disgusting....

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: GERM37 Date Rated: 11/5/2007 3:59:19 PM

-PLAN was good at first but then they told me I would have to start paying part of my prem. cost. IT is like everything else that comes out of WASHINGTON a rip off of the old and poor of this country. IT is like a gift for the drug co.'s and these people with the plans. BEFORE WASHINGTON got into this and came up with this bright idea I didn't have to pay for anything,I live on $643.00 a month and now it seems like everytime I get anything I have to pay for part of it. I wish that bunch in D.C. had to try and live on what I get to live on then maybe they would understand just how hard people are having it out in the real world. I have high blood pressure,LEUKEMIA and suffer from major depression and sometimes it is hard to keep fighting them.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Peanut Date Rated: 9/10/2007 6:36:03 PM

Pior authorizations are a pain inn the rear. My Doctor knows more than they do. I am diebetic and have been trying to get one medicine approved for three monthss and have not yet got it approved, so i have been withou it for 3 months, as i cannot afford to buy it on Social Security. Maybe if I die from lack of this medicine they will not have to pay for more medicine for me.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: mare Date Rated: 3/6/2007 6:57:46 PM

the ist year it was good this . this year they took off boniva where i had to pay 60.00 a pill and they paid 6.00. my thyroid i have to pay myself as the copay is more than the cost of the drug for 3 months. and now they want to limit my pills of nexium from 90 to 60. foR 3 mo. i was never informed of thes changes until i went to pharmacy.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: drjoelo Date Rated: 1/25/2007 1:15:44 PM

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: William Date Rated: 5/13/2006 1:44:49 AM

The first thing that went wrong was in early January when the plan wouldn't pay for my Niaspan, which was included in the plan formulary. After about three months, I was told that Medicare classifies Niaspan as a prescription VITAMIN and has refused coverage on it. How can that not have been known before the formulary was published when there had been years of planning? Finally, the plan said they would cover Niaspan through May 31 (I think). I submitted a manual claim in March for the January refill, which incidentally still hasn't been paid; actually I got a check from Walgreen's but it was made out to someone else, so I returned it. Today I was told, "The check is in the mail." so I'm still waiting. I did get coverage for a Niaspan refill in April. Before Medicare Part D, my wife and I had Medigap Plan J, which includes the highest drug benefit available; I take a lot of medicine and my wife did take a moderate amount but her's has been reduced due to unrelated matters. We were sent booklets that said our drug coverage under Plan J was not as good as MC-D and we both got letters that said our Plan J was "non-creditable" — a stupid and misleading word, I think, probably thought up by some bureaucrat. Based on our costs through April, I have now projected our annual costs. It appears that I will spend about $200 more than last year, but my wife will save about $450, but then she is not taking as much medicine as last year. Back in late November, when we were trying to compare our Plan J with the new MC-D, the plan at first wouldn't tell us how much the Plan J benefit cost us, which was necessary to make a comparison between Plan J and MC-D. So we were almost groping in the dark to make a decision. After we went on with a mostly "gut" decision and took the same plan's MC-D plan, they told me by phone that about 40% of our Plan J premium was for drug coverage. Now that we're in the MC-D plan, our Plan J cost has gone down only 30%, or about $

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Charl24 Date Rated: 5/12/2006 2:33:57 PM

Do not like non-coverage of "donut hole: for what one pays for the plan. Also do not like to have certain drugs pre-authorized - your doctor knows what he is doing and ordering for you better than the pharmacies. Personnel have always been helpful and do the best for you. What is the donut hole - how much money does one have to spend? The Medicare Information Book states that you only have to pay 100% of the difference between $2250 and $3600 - please read it - as most of the plans say you must spend $3600 between the $2250 and $5100. Very confusing. Do not like to have to take generics. Plan should be overhauled and re-done to help those of us caught in the middle and serve the middle class as much as it helps the rich and the poor people. Very unfair plan and poorly designed for us. All plans equal the same unfairness. Not just this plan.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: royse group Date Rated: 5/12/2006 11:41:19 AM

TOO MUCH information / Takes HOURS to talk to a human in customer service / FOUR of nine drugs used this year are NOT in formulary / Costs are BEST I found of several plans / Plan is easy to use / FORMULARY AND LACK OF CUSTOMER SERVICE CAUSE MY RATING TO ONLY BE "somewhat satisfied"

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Nana 50 Date Rated: 5/7/2006 4:40:31 PM

I think that this plan does not clarify everything, such as the first $2,600.00 of your prescription costs that are paid out by the consumer then your plan stops paying for any of the meds until you reach $3600.00 out of pocket then the Plan says you are catastophic and then you will start to help the person pay for their medication again. This is not exacty what a person wants to hear after they think they have a good plan and then is stuck with until NOV.15th. My Medication costs just for one medication is $1121.22 per month THAT IS JUST ONE MEDICATION!!!!!! AND I have several. You have know Idea how I felt when I went to get my medication filled in April and was told that you no longer were going to pay for my medicine until I reached the $3600.00 then I would be considered catastrohic. Don't you know when someone's medicine cost more than they make a month that should be considered catastrophic in my opinion. So now I have to beg and borrow for money to pay for medication that I need until I have the rest of that $3600.00 paid. What surprises are next?

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: NURSE919 Date Rated: 2/1/2006 10:17:27 AM

LACK OF CLARITY IN COVERAGE, MANY MEDS REQUIRE PRIOR AUTH FORM FROM PROVIDERS. FAILURE TO MAKE ACCESS TO MEDICATIONS WITHOUT DELAY. MAJORITY OF SENIORS OR DISABLED ARE NOT ABLE TO USE COMPUTERS TO OBTAIN INFORMATION NEEDED. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE FOR OUR PATIENTS TO BE EXPECTED TO GET ANY DIRECTION FROM LOCAL AGENCIES- WHICH HAVE NO CLEAR ANSWERS OR ABILITY TO HELP CHOOSE A PLAN WITH PROPER COVERAGE. THIS TRANSFORMATION HAS AND CONTINUES TO BE A DISASTER!! K.D. PARKER LPN II / PATIENT ASSISTANCE PROGRAM COORDINATOR, HACKLEY COMMUNITY CARE CENTER.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Linda confused  Date Rated: 12/20/2005 6:38:24 PM

What good is it to pay a premiun during the time of Donut hole with no pay on drugs.Is this really any good at all. The whole thing is toooooo confusing for older people as well as the children trying to help them.Why can't there be a simple plan that is easy to understand?

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Loraine Bishop Date Rated: 12/16/2005 3:30:07 PM

There is no coverage for the donut hole. In the long run it will average out better for people to pay more in premiums, no ded. and get coverage in the gap period. This whole thing is a mess. Loraine Bishop

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Doris Colville Date Rated: 11/23/2005 8:51:26 PM

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

Find Best Drug Prices -- Free!
Save money! Compare prescription drug prices for 1,000+ medications.     

 

 

 

Home   Plans & Ratings   PharmacyChecker Blog   Rate Your Plan   Forums   About Us   Contact Us   News   Login

©2014 MedicareDrugPlans.com

This site contains consumer research and information related to Medicare drug plans and is independently developed and operated by PharmacyChecker.com. It is not associated with, endorsed or authorized by any part of the U.S. government. If you would like the official government website for Medicare, visit www.medicare.gov.