Medicare drug plan consumer ratings
Part D Medicare Plan Ratings, Reviews and Forums
 
Medicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan forums
  

Humana Enhanced  - FL  (See Reviews of this Plan from Other Regions)
Overall Rating: 

What to expect:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

  
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: oldsole Date Rated: 6/26/2014 11:56:27 AM

Never Again. This plan seemed really good when I compared it at Medicare.gov. My husband has terminal pancreatic cancer and needs his meds. He was on Hospice Care but went back to Chemotherapy. Hospice had to discharge him and sent in the paperwork to Medicare and Humana. Two weeks later the pharmacy said Humana didn't show him being discharged from Hospice who had provided his meds at no cost to us. The pharmacy and I called Humana, I was informed it could take up to 30 days to reinstate him. Meantime we had been paying the premiums through all his hospital stays and while he was on Hospice care. The CSR at Humana said she would put a rush on getting him reinstated. Nearly three weeks later still can't get his meds. In desperation I called Medicare and complained, their CSR was fantastic and said we would hear from her or Humana soon. The very next day we heard from Humana and miraculously he is reinstated (Wow!!! go figure. Maybe someone lit a fire under them.). To leave a terminal cancer patient without their meds and in excruciating pain is unconscionable. Anyway I just called pharmacy and can finally get his meds. In addition Humana just removed some of my medications from their formulary, I'm diabetic and need those meds. Way to go Humana. Need I say I emphatically DO NOT recommend Humana. Spend a little more and get a good plan.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: GOODBYE-TO-HUMANA Date Rated: 11/6/2013 4:30:12 PM

I have had Humana for the Part-D, Prescription Drug Plan, since this program first became available to the public. At the outset Humana seemed to be decent to deal with, HOWEVER THAT HAS CHANGED DRAMATICALLY. Beginning around 2011, they became much more restrictive in the drugs ("formulary") that they would allow. On top of this they significantly increased the cost of the customer's 'co-pay' amount, for the exact same drugs that they had been paying for in previous years. Last month, October 2013, I attempted to obtain a refill of an existing prescription, one that had been placed with Humana earlier in 2013, only to be told by my Pharmacist that "Humana said that they won't pay for this refill for another 60 days". This is Humana's NEW POSITION regarding a drug that they have been refilling for me every 21 days for more than the past two years. Even after my physician contacted Humana and explained : (1) my need for the drug (AND for the dosage prescribed by HIM), (2)Humana's, prior to this date, having refilled this drug every 21 days without objection, and finally (3) that this drug has been and continues to be on their list of approved drugs; Humana has chosen to refuse to change their "NEW POSITION". No logical explanation has been offered. I am one of those fortunate persons who require only a couple of prescriptions on a daily basis, unlike so many seniors who have to take many expensive drugs. My drugs are in fact quite inexpensive. I enrolled into the PDP several years ago thinking that it would be wise in the event I might be require expensive drugs at some future date. Fortunately, that has not happened and Humana has made a sizeable profit off of my account over these years. They have chosen to overlook all of this and it is apparent that they have shifted their corporate position in an effort to further maximize their profits. A further confirmation of the 'shift' was provided an excellent pharmacist that I know who advised me last year that he had seen this as regards Humana and that Humana had deteriorated significantly as an acceptable PDP provider. They will NOT BE my PDP Plan provider beginning in 2014.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: JudyG Date Rated: 1/15/2013 12:51:06 PM

This has to be the worst mail order Plan out there. Consistently poor customer service, extremely long hold times on phone, unable to provide correct information when asked a question. Very negligent about notifying/faxing doctors for info - even worse about notifying members. If you're not on blood pressure meds before dealing with Rightsource, you will be after.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: vaderviper Date Rated: 1/26/2010 8:03:06 PM

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: bobbis Date Rated: 2/22/2008 11:46:27 AM

In 2006 I enrolled my father in this plan because it was the cheapest plan in Florida for his drugs. They were terrible to deal with and I assumed it was because this was the first year for Medicare D. In 2007 the best plan for him was AARP and it was a pleasure dealing with them. For 2008, unfortunately, the best plan once again turned out to be Humana, and nothing had changed. They are still impossible to deal with. I sent in a new Rx on 2/1/08, and as of yesterday (2/21/08) they say they just logged it in and it won't be filled for another week! That means 4 weeks to fill a new Rx and that is totally inacceptable!. It's also impossible to get information from their website since the mail order portion is always "unavailable at this time". Something needs to be done about this before it becomes even worse, if that is possible!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: zerep Date Rated: 2/4/2008 2:03:01 PM

Sent first mail order pharmacy request to Humana's RightSource more than two weeks ago. Their literature promised a two-week turn around time. Have heard noting from them Web site request for status always returns the message "Service unavailable". Finally reached them by phone today. Was told they were running two to three weeks behind on processing new requests due to heavy workload. This is not a satisfactory answer. Means the promised two week turnaround will be at least five weeks!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: philnat Date Rated: 6/28/2007 7:26:29 PM

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: lobo Date Rated: 2/11/2007 11:25:55 AM

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: prwoodall Date Rated: 2/8/2006 3:00:21 PM

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

Find Best Drug Prices -- Free!
Save money! Compare prescription drug prices for 1,000+ medications.     

 

 

 

Home   Plans & Ratings   PharmacyChecker Blog   Rate Your Plan   Forums   About Us   Contact Us   News   Login

©2014 MedicareDrugPlans.com

This site contains consumer research and information related to Medicare drug plans and is independently developed and operated by PharmacyChecker.com. It is not associated with, endorsed or authorized by any part of the U.S. government. If you would like the official government website for Medicare, visit www.medicare.gov.