Medicare drug plan consumer ratings
Part D Medicare Plan Ratings, Reviews and Forums - NOW UPDATED FOR 2017
 
Medicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan forums
  

WellCare Classic  - OH  (See Reviews of this Plan from Other Regions)
Overall Rating: 

What to expect:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

  
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Dorie Date Rated: 5/16/2017 11:18:58 AM

Wellcare is the best company I have ever dealt with. The customer service is excellent and the monthly premium is very affordable.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: redlegs Date Rated: 8/27/2016 2:50:54 PM

I rated WellCare with all 1 because there is no place for 0. They have gotten worse every year. Customer service and knowledgeable responses are impossible to obtain. The customer reps have no clue what they are talking about and follow up on nothing. I recently moved from Indiana to Ohio and they have made my Part D a nightmare. Wanted them to keep taking premium from my Social Security and they even have that screwed up. No one to talk to except a machine or a clueless customer service rep. I will be dropping this outfit in October. You are out of your mind if you sign up for a plan with WellCare. They are a total 2nd rate operation. Do yourself a favor and take your business elseware.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: ltfuming Date Rated: 12/28/2015 7:59:24 PM

1. Cannot log on from the homepage of Wellcarepdp. 2. Cannot submit a question using on-line contact button. (Have filled out form and clicked submit, repeatedly.) 3. Cannot get answer on Tiering Exception from Customer Service or Wellcare Phamacy Department. Wellcare Pharmacy rep told me today (12-28-2015) that the system he needs to use to review this has not been up-dated for 2016. 4. Cannot understand CSRs in any department: thick accents, "fuzzy" or crackling telephone lines, and poor understanding of the question I am asking. 5. Have question about medication that I take in tablet form that is only listed as nasal spray... 6. Prices of necessary medications have sky-rocketed. 7. Cannot send complaint via on-line form (see #2.) 8. Tech Support goes home at 5pm EST.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: unhappycustomer Date Rated: 12/23/2015 11:29:53 AM

This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. Customer service is terrible. I have been on hold being transferred to 6 different people just cancel an online payment which I inadvertenly clicked on twice. They now tell me it cannot be cancelled and customer service will call back at some future time convenient to them. Absolutely absurd! In the past when posing questions about presription coverage it has taken hours to get any information. I am so glad to be changing prescription plans for 2016. I would not advise choosing this company.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: matelot Date Rated: 3/3/2015 8:28:53 PM

I retired in oct 14 and went over to medicare a & b + a supplemental medical + Wellcare for Drugs Moved to Florida in Dec and Wellcare cut me off with NO notification whatsoever Made the mistake of resigning with them in January (effective Feb) for 4x the cost of Virginia (Obviously legal drugs must be more expensive in florida !) Filled prescriptions in Feb for which Wellcare paid (except for deductible) Had cararact surgery later in 1 eye for which Wellcare paid for eye drops prescribed Had other eye done 2 weeks later for which Wellcare REFUSED to pay for drops! (Citing the fact they thought I had "other" drug insurance coverage) After 6 hours of being given the run around the office by Wellcare I finally had to pay cash for the drops ($165) Wellcare apparently still thinks I am covered by my old insurance (BC/BS)thru my old employer ! Where they got that from is ridiculus and they wouldn't tell me where ! If so why would anyone need a scurrulus outfit like theirs to start with I must have told their "enlish as a 2nd language people today a dozen times that I had no "other" drug coverage but they wouldn't take this as an answer WARNING - DO NOT TOUCH THEM WITH A "BARGEPOLE" They are totally dishonest and inept in my opinion Get a reputable company instead

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: GregM Date Rated: 11/22/2014 1:25:44 AM

This is is poorest excuse for a business of any kind. They prey on the disabled and elderly. It is impossible to get an answer to any question on the phone. They just run you from department to department. They will not escalate your call because they can't remember the name of there boss. This company was raided by The Department of Consumer Affairs a few years back. They should have done us a favor and closed them down. I wouldn't belong to these crooks if they paid me. They all of a sudden will reject a claim for a med they know your must have. Leaving you with no choice but to pay for it and try and get a reimbursed for the cost. The form that want you to fill out ask for information that even my pharmacy could not answer. They want a bunch of code numbers that are not on anything you get with your script. The only way to ask for a reimbursement is by using US Mail threw a PO Box. It's unbelievable that in this day and age that the only option is snail mail. They said they needed to send me the proper form but after waiting for 10 days it never came in the mail. It's 3 weeks now and it never was mailed top me. I finally found the form on there website witch they didn't mention when I spoke with them. They had paid for this med 10 times and all of a sudden rejected it but then covered it the next month. It should be pretty clear that it should be covered, but they insist that I must supply them with all this impossible information that they have on this form. If the pharmacy can't fill it out how am I supposed to. I have no idea what these codes are they are asking for. They told me that my pharmacy sent the wrong code. They said the code changed but my pharmacy didn't change to the new code. I ask my pharmacy and the code hasn't changed in 10 years and is still the same exact code I'm sure when they get the information they are going to compare it to the information they have. They are just doing it to make it impossible to get reimbursed for what they owe you. It will take them between 10 to 20 minutes to verify your identity every time you speak to a new person even if you transferred. It took them 25 minutes just to change my address and an other 20 minutes to change my phone number. My request is pending as I write this but I have no doubt that I will have to file a complaint with the Department of Consumer Affairs Attorney General's Office and the Department of Insurance before they even consider paying me what they owe me. If it say WELL CARE RUN RUN RUN!!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Just plain MAD Date Rated: 8/25/2014 2:21:03 PM

The complaint I have is with the mailorder EXACTUS. They have absolutely NO CUSTOMER SERVICE! I was told by Wellcare that to insure I got the best discount on my expensive drugs, I should use the mailorder services EXACTUS. What a joke. I submitted two scripts for a 3 month supply in May. I had to call 6 times to get any answer to where my orders were and they were so delayed I had to ask my doctor to write a a partial order until I recieved my drugs. I tried again in August submitting EARLY so there were no delays. This time I called 5 times and was cutoff after waiting 1 hour! This was my mistake for waiting this longer, however the type of drug I need is something I cannot be without. After being told it would ship out the next day, I recieved a call that they had recieved a prescription for me and I would not have to do anything and I would be notified when it would ship. I called because it was suppose to be shipped the day before and I was told they were out of stock and did not know when they would have it. BAD BAD BAD COMPANY! Do something MEDICARE!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: df040567 Date Rated: 7/2/2014 7:04:41 PM

One star is too high but I see no other option for a lower rating. Customer service is non-existent. The representatives are trained to give you the runaround. Internal policy doesn't give them the flexibility to make any on the ground adjustments or decisions. Details of your issue are passed up the line and you eventually get a form letter rejecting your complaint. Thank goodness for the internet which gives the consumer a platform to share positive and negative experiences. Wish I had used this site prior to getting involved with WellCare Classic. I am now stuck with this plan for the rest of the year. I have spent hours on the phone, spoken to various supervisors and account managers all to no avail. Medicare erred in telling me there would be no co-pays on my three prescriptions with WellCare. That turned out to be inaccurate. I chose this plan based on Medicares input. It turns out WellCare was not the best plan for me and WellCare is indifferent to my situation. I believe this company uses predatory corporate practices. There is a reason you are looking at all these terrible ratings of WellCare.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Reggie Keene Date Rated: 5/31/2014 2:57:50 PM

The worst I have ever seen. Totally incapable to do anything right

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: atlar Date Rated: 5/20/2014 3:05:37 PM

the Exactus folks are inept. I have been paying premiss since April and they STILL have not accepted my physician's FAX of prescriptions. I have contacted them from the website form twice about this over the last 6 weeks. No response. Today I talked to a person on the phone He admitted the website form is NOT a good way to talk with them. DO NOT buy this insurance unless you enjoy continually managing your account to get results. What a waste.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Mr.PC Date Rated: 5/3/2014 6:19:54 PM

I echo other people's experience with Exactus, the mail order arm of WellCare. Web site shows item shipped, no carrier or tracking info available. Human being I managed to reach says "7-10 business days", "any day now". Every other web site can give you tracking info.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: peppem Date Rated: 4/28/2014 2:32:08 PM

Prior to going out of town, (4/7) called to request WellCare pharmacy (Exactus) contact oncology MD's office for prescription renewal. Returned two weeks later to no meds. Called pharmacy and was told script faxed but MD did not respond, I confirmed MD's fax # with rep and he said he would fax again immediately. Called MD's office to alert them. Office checked every 10 minutes; hours later no fax. Called pharmacy again; previous rep never requested MD's renewal. Gave 2nd rep MD's fax and was told she was faxing as we spoke. Hours later still no fax. Called again and spoke with supervisor, was told reps did not actually fax but put request into system for another dept which could take 24-48 hrs to enter. I was irate since NO ONE had ever informed me of this. Called MD's office who then called pharmacy and was eventually told meds would be overnighted at pharmacy's expense. Days later still no meds; called again and told they were sent standard delivery.I still have not rec'd them. The endless hours spent on this fiasco by my physician, husband and myself is totally unacceptable. I can deal with inconvenience but to be deceived, misinformed, and poorly serviced in inexcusable. The lack of comprehensive communication, follow through, truth-telling and concern for their customers is appalling. I could never recommend them to anyone and will be filing complaints with other entities.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: miriam d. Date Rated: 3/12/2014 6:19:29 PM

MEDICALLY NEGLIGENT is the most fitting description of this company! I'm thinking...class action lawsuit, anyone? I waited over 5 weeks for them to fill a prescription - all the while being kept in the dark as to the reasons for the delay. I was actually becoming quite ill...When it finally got to my mailbox, they had the nerve to charge $50 more than my local pharmacy, despite their claim to save 17% over regular retail providers. when i offered to pay them the same as my local store, they refused to compromise, and when I told them I would not accept the package under those terms, they stated they would only send it back to me(repeatedly) and that I would still be billed. How childish! The company is exceedingly unprofessional. Customer service is simply a joke. You'll just get a phone tree, with canned voices, incorrect data, and non-sensical "personal" messages. After 6 months they still can't get my address correct, and last week the recording informed me that it was time to refill a prescription of which they had shipped a 90-day supply approximately 30 days ago. When asked to update the recording with my correct address, the operator told me it couldn't be done because another department handles that, and she could neither transfer my call, provide me with any contact data, nor communicate with said dep.t directly herself!!! DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT GO THERE!!!!!!!!!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: OohLaLa Date Rated: 2/4/2014 5:45:51 PM

Awful! DO NOT try to transfer your prescriptions online with Exactus! It WILL NOT work. I feel as though I was forced to use this mail order service. It was the "Preferred" service for WellCare. They should be ashamed. I used OptumRx last year and loved the service. I wish I could still use them, but WellCare would rather use this pharmacy, probably because it is cheaper for them. The costs end up on us being lack of customer service and a inept web site. I tried transferring 2 full weeks ago and my meds have still not even shipped! I keep hearing "7 to 10 days Mam". Well, it's been that, so WHEN are they going to ship?!? I have spent countless hours on the phone trying to get answers. And one of the medications was not what I ordered! Ugh. SO frustrating… If you have a choice, use a different pharmacy!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Mimi Date Rated: 12/12/2013 10:41:46 AM

Tried to transfer a prescription from retail store to Exactus when I obtained Medicare Plan D. Never happened. I then filed a complaint with Medicare and received a call from Wellcare rep. He then successfully got the Rx transferred as the Rx appeared on the Exactus website. When I went to renew the Rx it was gone!! Called Exactus and was informed they have no record of it. They informed me they will call my physician to get new Rx. This is still in progress and I have no expectations this will ever happen. 2 months with this plan and still have not received any medications through Exactus.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: jeaniko Date Rated: 4/26/2013 6:47:48 PM

Well Care's Exactus Pharmacy is totally TERRIBLE. They fill prescriptions you don't order, and charge your credit card, and when you order they charge your credit card twice. You could spend the rest of your life on hold and getting transferred around trying to get resolutions....but it appears they have zero interest in customer service....only screwing the customers.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Hensljeni Date Rated: 2/11/2013 6:28:21 PM

Stay away from Wellcare Classic plan. Wellcare use to offer an enhanced plan, which was great. Effective in 2013, their classic plan is all that was being offered as a Part D plan. It is terrible, their customer service and all areas of their service is the WORST I've come across. I just spent 1 1/2 hrs on the telephone with Wellcare's mail order/specialty pharamacy trying to reach the proper party to reverse a test claim charge. Wellcare apparently contacted Exactus Pharmacy and had them contact my doctor for a prescription - ALL WITHOUT MY CONSENT. If you are getting any kind of drug cost assistance through any foundation or manufacturer... AVOID WELLCARE at all cost. Frankly, I'll be throwing away my $32.40 per month until the end of the year. You can bet come OCTOBER 15TH, I'll be signing up for a new plan.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

Find Best Drug Prices -- Free!
Save money! Compare prescription drug prices for 1,000+ medications.     

 

 

 

Home   Plans & Ratings   PharmacyChecker Blog   Rate Your Plan   Forums   About Us   Contact Us   News   Login

©2017 MedicareDrugPlans.com

This site contains consumer research and information related to Medicare drug plans and is independently developed and operated by PharmacyChecker.com. It is not associated with, endorsed or authorized by any part of the U.S. government. If you would like the official government website for Medicare, visit www.medicare.gov.