Medicare drug plan consumer ratings
Part D Medicare Plan Ratings, Reviews and Forums - NOW UPDATED FOR 2018
 
Medicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan forums
  

AARP MedicareRx Preferred  - CT, MA, RI, VT  (See Reviews of this Plan from Other Regions)
Overall Rating: 

What to expect:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

  
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Janetmar Date Rated: 12/18/2014 1:15:44 PM

This horrible plan has a rogue computer that is verging on harassment. I have been receiving computer-generated "past due" notices since September, 2014, although my payments are up to date. In October, I called Customer Support, and "Lawrence" spent several hours tracking down the error, and was finally able to confirm that this was a computer error on their part. I asked for written confirmation, since the computer that is generating the erroneous dunning letters might eventually send one to the credit bureau and unfairly damage my credit rating. However, he couldn't send me written confirmation of their error because they don't have a form letter for that situation, and they're not allowed to compose letters themselves. The dunning letters have continued in Oct., Nov., and Dec., threatening to disenroll me from the plan if I don't pay up. The computer has not noticed that I disenrolled myself in early November, and received confirmation of that from UHC on 11/24. But another letter from UHC on 12/18 repeated the threat to disenroll me. I wish I have never gotten into this plan's clutches.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Fed up Date Rated: 8/7/2014 10:29:56 PM

This is by far the worst plan I have ever had. They charge one person more than another even though they have the same plan and the same medication and dosage. I went into the donut hole and just when I was supposed to go into catastrophic coverage they zeroed everything out and said I had to start all over again. The pharmacy had a record of everything I had spent to date but United Healthcare showed that I had spent nothing and was starting from zero. They also cancel my prescriptions before they have expired and keep making me get new prescriptions. Their record keeping is terrible and their Customer service is worse. I can't wait until open enrollment so I can switch from this nightmare of a plan.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: vkrouse Date Rated: 4/2/2012 10:53:28 AM

I'm rating this on behalf of my deceased father. I think the plan was ok but the customer service in dealing with his estate has been awful. It should get negative stars. I began notifying them of my father's death along with everyone else on 2/9. By 3/30 I had sent the death certificate and executor paperwork twice but they still couldn't manage to get me a simple verification of premiums paid for 2011 so I could get reimbursed by his FYA account through his retiree benefits. That $414 would have helped pay bills and funeral expenses. Did they care? Of course not. Some of the reps out and out lied to me that it had been sent several times.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: wyomingwind Date Rated: 6/20/2011 1:05:46 PM

Still have not received my prescription order. I am now out of medications. My blood sugar is above 200, my blood pressure is very high. I have not diabetes medications to take, have no blood pressure medication, have no Plavix, have no statin control meds. They have made sure that I am out of the proper medications I should have available. I am able to pay for these drugs as necessary. They will not send them, though they repeatedly say that "they have been sent". It is now my strongly held opinion that the plan of this failure on the part of Prescription Solutions, a part of the AARP program, is in fact to kill seniors who are "too old", by not making the drugs necessary for survival available as needed. This is a gross failure, and I believe, a totally planned procedure to cut down on the "expenses" of medicare. Just get rid of the old people by failing to get them the medications they need to survive. I have been talking to Prescription Solutions for 2 weeks in an effort to get my prescriptions delivered to me.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: eyesright Date Rated: 1/14/2010 3:01:43 PM

Imagine my surprise when I planned to pay $14.00 for a 40 day supply of generic Brimonidine 0.15% and was charged $86.00 because this strength is now Tier 2! The formulary listed Brimonidine as Tier 1 and no strength was listed. I was told by the representative that this can be changed at any time and they don't have to notify the members first. The joke is that a stronger solution is Tier 1. Go figure that one out....

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: vtpharm Date Rated: 6/4/2006 1:24:15 AM

I had huge problems in February and March (I ducked out of Part D for January) getting my prescriptions under Prescription Pathway Bronze. All I know is that I have had pretty smooth sailing in April and May on the AARP MedicareRx plan, the minor glitches resulting from Vermont's state wrap program, VPharm and possibly the pharmacy I was using. It was clear on the AARP Web site that my first pharmacy was NOT a "Save 90" pharmacy, and the pharmacists there were too quick to blame the wrap program and not understanding the their 30-day contract was really the issue. The Web site makes up for lackluster customer service over the phone. I have spoken with several plans I always know more than the reps, so maybe AARP deserves an average grade here. The one area where customer service was stellar was in switching into it late in the month. They were correct in that they only needed 72 hours, and even with the Memorial Day holiday, my mother's Friday signup registered for her to pick up her first med on Thursday. What a relief.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Disappointed Date Rated: 5/12/2006 4:42:39 PM

Formulary listed a generic name for Foltx - when my RX was refused said that Medicare would not pay for 'vitamin' pill, even thought it was listed in AARP formulary. My doctor prescribed Foltx for treatment of coronary artery - not as a vitamin but to reduce plaque.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Omahabeach Date Rated: 5/12/2006 3:07:04 PM

I think that people have become so dependent on others making decisions that they have become unable to think for themselves. I am sick of hearing all the complaints about a program that was simple to sign up for and has been problem free. Our politicians and legal experts are creating a system where no one is responsible for anything ergo someone else must take us through every step of any decision process.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: bslaun Date Rated: 2/15/2006 3:54:48 PM

This plan is a godsend. With all the problems people had getting prescriptions - I brought in my member card from my huge welcome kit to CVS and after 5 minutes of inputting the info, all my scrips went through at the price they should have. I had checked that all my meds - 10 per month - were covered on the formulary. All have been filled withouth a problem plus some new added ones. Customer service on the phone was also excellent. I am thrilled with this excellent, A++, user friendly plan.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: embrent Date Rated: 2/13/2006 2:45:20 PM

I enrolled in early December and received my information before January 1st. I went to my pharmacy with this information on January 4th. The drugstore seemed a little shell shocked but with all my information they processed my prescription in a few minutes. I have had no trouble since either.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: zoomvette Date Rated: 1/17/2006 3:08:33 PM

i used walgreen mail which says 14 days. called and 3 were in mail after 14 days, 3 were in process and one was in a state of confusion. however they were very friendly and said they would resolve problem. yet no one had contacted my doctor over the perscription they said "not understood". worst case i go to local walgreen drug store and forget mail which is 2 co-pays for 90 days supply. ill end up going once a month and lose one co-pay savings jim

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

Find Best Drug Prices -- Free!
Save money! Compare prescription drug prices for 1,000+ medications.     

 

 

 

Home   Plans & Ratings   PharmacyChecker Blog   Rate Your Plan   Forums   About Us   Contact Us   News   Login

©2019 MedicareDrugPlans.com

This site contains consumer research and information related to Medicare drug plans and is independently developed and operated by PharmacyChecker.com. It is not associated with, endorsed or authorized by any part of the U.S. government. If you would like the official government website for Medicare, visit www.medicare.gov.