Medicare drug plan consumer ratings
Part D Medicare Plan Ratings, Reviews and Forums - NOW UPDATED FOR 2018
 
Medicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan forums
  

AARP MedicareRx Preferred  - OR, WA  (See Reviews of this Plan from Other Regions)
Overall Rating: 

What to expect:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

  
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: wonza  Date Rated: 12/6/2014 11:01:39 AM

This is the only plan I have had. I resent the government making us have a plan threatening to charge us all sorts of penalties. Bottom line: I paid AARP United health apx $600.00 this year and they paid me $15.00 with this plan. I am trying desperately to change but they all seem the same. The other reviews are correct,you cannot get a correct answer for anything. When they say you only have to pay so much, it is not what happens when you are on the plan. What's to do about it. Another way to get money out of us when we need it the most.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Carol Date Rated: 2/20/2013 11:07:19 PM

Their preferred provider of mail order prescriptions "Prescription Solutions-Optum Rx" sends out their medicines in one size fits all bottle - a huge bottle compared to what would be needed for a 90 day supply of my medicines. Literally the tablets don't even come up to the bottom of the lablel on the bottle so 90% is empty space. If you travel and want your prescriptions in a properly labeled bottle easy to pack then this is NOT the pharmacy for you. There is absolutely no flexibility or abiltiy to provide any customer service at this pharmacy.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Dirty Date Rated: 12/5/2011 11:03:18 PM

I have been a member of this plan since its inception. I also have had planF with AARP UH for 12 years. I have seen prescription solutions go up and down, but for the most part, have had very little problem with the "mail order." I had planned to stay with the medigap+stand-alone plan until I got hit it the head with a brick by the letter they sent me advising me of the upcoming cost of some of the TIERS.5(TIER3)meds went from $7/mo up to $40/mo. WHAT? 1(TIER4)went from $120/mo (BAD ENOUGH) TO $276/mo. Their suggestion was to seek other less expensive meds. I decided to check out some other plans and don't see much improvement, so will probably avoid the change hassle FOR THIS YEAR, anyway. Next year I'll be more aware SOONER!!! Happily, for me these are NOT life threatening meds, but it's an abomination!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: internationalgrandma Date Rated: 11/3/2011 3:11:23 PM

Today I telephoned the customer service to get more information about the medicare drug plans because we are unhappy with price increase in our current plan. I got a representative who spoke very very poor English and after a couple of misunderstood questions, I hung up and dialed again and got another person who spoke better English, but I still had difficulty in understanding. He assured me he was in New York, not abroad, and eventually I did get questions answered. Now, I speak 3 languages myself so I'm not prejudiced about accents - but this was ridiculous - UnitedHealth needs to have people answering their phones that can speak clear English and understand questions asked in English. I am undecided between AARP (United Health) and another company's plan, but the other company did not waste my time trying to understand what I was asking. Guess which plan I will choose.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: pixie Date Rated: 10/30/2011 1:32:59 PM

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: budo Date Rated: 11/8/2008 1:58:16 PM

A review of their relatively high pricing for products AND their ever-increasing copays has caused me to leave their plan for 2009. Too expensive for little or nothing in return.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: milbank Date Rated: 6/4/2007 6:40:32 PM

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: tjpete Date Rated: 10/17/2006 12:34:15 PM

Every time I called, I was given conflicting information. When I appealed a denial for a prescription, on the basis of quantity limits, they tried to tell me the drug wasn't approved for my condition, when everything I've read since says it is! I'm disapppointed in AARP for loaning its name to this plan, and won't renew my membership in AARP.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: bjjones Date Rated: 6/15/2006 8:26:33 AM

When we signed up for this plan we had no idea that the dollar figure used for figuring the initial coverage period would not be the $5 or $28 we paid for each prescription and instead the total cost to United is the figure used thus we were into the infamous gap before we knew it. Have cut the dosages in half where we can so that the prescription will last 60 days instead of just 30. This Plan D is not nearly as much help as we'd hoped for.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: atmeury Date Rated: 5/12/2006 2:41:15 PM

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: brook Date Rated: 1/17/2006 7:04:19 PM

I Called to find out information regarding what made up the "Total Annual Cost" on the Medicare Web site which is displayed after you plug in your drug information. I wanted to know how they arrive at that figure, as none of my calculations came up with that number. I waited 1 hour and 40 Min. before someone answered. I asked my question. I was put on hold for 10 Min. When the rep came back, he asked if I wanted him to send information. I asked if that would answer my question. He said, "what quesiton?". So, I explained once again what I wanted to know. He put me on hold once again. When he returned, he still did not know what I was asking. I asked it in several different ways, hoping one would work. No chance. We did this three times, with me holding for a long time between questions. Finally, he came back and said, after I asked the question once again, "I don't know. I'm new here. You need to talk to a licensed representative. I will transfer you." I said, "can you put me right through, as I have already been on the phone for two + hours." He said no, he would just put me on hold once again. After waiting once again, I gave up. This concerns me, because what is going to happen after I sign up if this is the level of customer service AARP is providing?

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

Find Best Drug Prices -- Free!
Save money! Compare prescription drug prices for 1,000+ medications.     

 

 

 

Home   Plans & Ratings   PharmacyChecker Blog   Rate Your Plan   Forums   About Us   Contact Us   News   Login

©2019 MedicareDrugPlans.com

This site contains consumer research and information related to Medicare drug plans and is independently developed and operated by PharmacyChecker.com. It is not associated with, endorsed or authorized by any part of the U.S. government. If you would like the official government website for Medicare, visit www.medicare.gov.