Medicare drug plan consumer ratings
Part D Medicare Plan Ratings, Reviews and Forums - NOW UPDATED FOR 2018
 
Medicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan forums
  

AARP MedicareRx Preferred  - VA  (See Reviews of this Plan from Other Regions)
Overall Rating: 

What to expect:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

  
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: 2paiges Date Rated: 2/2/2016 6:04:06 PM

I'm having to now pay full price for too many prescriptions. Filled a prescription in January with no problem. Received letter today saying they will not cover but 1/3 cost, which means Dr cannot write me a script the pharmacy can accept. Who are they to question my doctor. Went through this last year with them and she had to take her valuable time explaining this very same drug. When you are on an expensive drug you are going to have constant problems. They want you on a cheaper drugs. I also have found there is no real advantage to receive better coverage with AARP.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: elderlybiker Date Rated: 10/1/2014 11:57:51 AM

This plan has been nearly worthless.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: DSE9755 Date Rated: 1/25/2012 7:48:21 PM

This plan does not "consistently" cover Armour Thyroid. People who are unable to take the synthetic thyroids and need this type of medication need this option. Medicare Part D rates were reported to have gone down in 2012, but this plan increased their rates. I mailed six prescriptions to this Medicare Part D provider's mail order dept. almost a month ago and they only filled two, and that was only after I called them to see where my medications were. After two more phone calls, and four additional unfilled prescriptions as well as broken promises, I'm told by a pharmacist that my remaining prescriptions have not been filled because they were written for a three month supply and they wanted to ask me if I was going to need three months worth. I told them I didn't know - to please fill it as it was written. They again told me they wanted to fill it for only one month. I confirmed that one month supply is $8, and a three month's supply was also $8, then asked them to fill it as written. They were not happy with my answer. When I asked the pharmacist why they had not called me if they had yet another question that needed to answered before they would send my medicines, she said they were busy. The first two of my prescriptions had been put on "pending" status earlier because they wanted my permission (again) to charge them on my credit card. This company gets worse each time I try to fill a prescription. It was my understanding that they were to fill prescriptions as they are written. I didn't think I needed to justify to my pharmacist why I was on certain medications or disclose my medical history. Getting through their phone system is a nightmare. I regret renewing my contract with this company. I'm sick, and change is very scary and difficult for me - but being taken advantage of is no less stressful.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: noscreennametoday Date Rated: 1/25/2012 4:01:33 PM

This plan does not cover Armour Thyroid. People who are unable to take the synthetic thyroids and need this type of medication need this option. Medicare Part D rates were reported to have gone down in 2012, but this plan increased their rates. I mailed five prescriptions to this Medicare Part D provider's mail order dept. almost a month ago and they only filled two, and that was only after I called them to see where my medications were. After two more phone calls, and three additional unfilled prescriptions as well as broken promises, I'm told by a pharmacist that my remaining prescriptions have not been filled because they were written for a three month supply and they wanted to ask me if I was going to need three months worth. I told them I didn't know - to please fill it as it was written. They again told me they wanted to fill it for only one month. I confirmed that one month supply is $8, and a three month's supply was also $8, then asked them to fill it as written. They were not happy with my answer. When I asked the pharmacist why they had not called me if they had yet another question that needed to answered before they would send my medicines, she said they were busy. The first two of my prescriptions had been put on "pending" status earlier because they wanted my permission (again) to charge them on my credit card. (Think medicine for chronic ear, eye, and yeast infections for a Lupus patient.) This company gets worse each time I try to fill a prescription. It was my understanding that they were to fill prescriptions as they are written. I didn't think I needed to justify to my pharmacist why I was on certain medications and disclose my medical history. Getting through their phone system is a nightmare. I regret renewing my contract with this company. I'm sick, and change is very scary and difficult for me - but being taken advantage of is no less stressful.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: vafromva Date Rated: 11/29/2011 12:53:27 PM

covered new drug (approved 11/11)

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: anniboo Date Rated: 10/22/2011 6:17:40 PM

Good customer service. Co-pays on some drugs (Namenda, DiovanHCL, etc., are difficult to afford. Complaint: Axona prescription nutrient for Alzheimers patients is not covered and is quite expensive. Why is it not covered?

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: PeggyVe Date Rated: 1/31/2011 11:55:50 PM

After one year, AARP Medicare RX Preferred Plan (PDP) by United Healthcare decided to completely discontinue my Tier 2 drug without any warning. When I refilled the monthly prescription,the drug store couldn't understand why the cost had more than doubled as I was not informed of the new decision to drop that particular medicine.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Rhodes22 Date Rated: 5/12/2006 12:17:40 PM

Got plan thru my retirement benifits. Didn't go to drug store until mid-March only to find my application had not been processed. Several calls in succeedig days final resolved problem. Got letter end of April saying I was being kicked out for non-payment, found out thaat the money taken out of my bank account to pay for the rest of my AARP health plan did not cover Part D because it is a separate enity within AARP. Previuos AARP Health plan paid 1/2 medicine cost so I was getting my medicine from Canada at cost to me of $1800/ year. Now cost takes me beyond the doughtnut hole. AARP will not allow seniors to use it's old plan anymore because it doesn't meet Medicaide Standards. I was better off before the government tried to help me.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: lillibub Date Rated: 2/18/2006 6:04:03 PM

It's great to be able to get 90 days coverage at some local pharmacies. If you forget to order till later than you should ,then it's so great!!Everyone has been very nice that I've had to contact.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

Find Best Drug Prices -- Free!
Save money! Compare prescription drug prices for 1,000+ medications.     

 

 

 

Home   Plans & Ratings   PharmacyChecker Blog   Rate Your Plan   Forums   About Us   Contact Us   News   Login

©2019 MedicareDrugPlans.com

This site contains consumer research and information related to Medicare drug plans and is independently developed and operated by PharmacyChecker.com. It is not associated with, endorsed or authorized by any part of the U.S. government. If you would like the official government website for Medicare, visit www.medicare.gov.