Medicare drug plan consumer ratings
Part D Medicare Plan Ratings, Reviews and Forums - NOW UPDATED FOR 2018
 
Medicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan forums
  

Humana Preferred Rx Plan  - CA  (See Reviews of this Plan from Other Regions)
Overall Rating: 

What to expect:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

  
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: rainyday6 Date Rated: 4/4/2017 6:24:38 PM

I signed up for a Humana Part D plan in January of 2016 and set up automatic withdrawls from my checking account. I have a lot of autopayments, and during the summer I had to change my debit card due to fraud. My bank will not process the fraud claim and reimburse me without cancelling and reissuing the card. In contacting my other autopay companies, I overlooked Humana. When one of my prescriptions was not covered, I immediately called Humana and gave them what I owed to date via the new debit card. I continued to receive my monthly statements and coverage. Late in the year, my insulin payment shot way up. My pharmacy said I was in the coverage gap, or that Humana raised their copayments, so I paid huge amounts for the insulin and smaller yet manageable amounts. I had to spend money set aside for other purchases to afford this. A few weeks later, I started noticing that some medications were being paid again. But my insulin was still too high to afford. I tried to control my diabetes with diet, but still had problems. When I contacted Medicare to ask for extra help, I found out I hadn't been in the coverage gap at all. I confronted the pharmacy who blamed Humana, and when I tried to contact Humana, their explanations were so convoluted it would take a semester class to decipher them. I gave up and finally just decided to transfer all my prescriptions to another pharmacy. On my first visit to pick up, the clerk seemed confused and told me I was being "way overcharged". I tried to call Humana again, and was transferred around so much that finally my fully-charged cell phone went dead. I gave up and continued to pay whatever the pharmacy told me, just to stay alive. I also continued to give up other things I needed such as hearing aids, new glasses, a recliner I need to elevate my legs among other things. In March, I received a letter from Humana advising me that I owed them almost $500. in back payments. I admit that I don't keep great track of my checking account, but if the payments stopped last summer, and I gave them the new card #, what happened? The letter states that if I don't pay the past due amount, my coverage will end May 31st, 2017. I planned to pay them until I went to the pharmacy again, and was told I had no coverage. It wasn't even April yet. I don't know what to do. I simply cannot understand how all this works. I can't get ahold of them. If anyone has any advice, please help me. God Bless.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Tibbrit Date Rated: 4/13/2015 2:51:37 PM

Avoid this plan! Ever since I switched, I have had nothing but problems with Humana. They denied a drug that was on their formulary, then told me it was approved, still denied it because they and their prescription processor thought incorrectly it's FDA approval had been withdrawn. After two months and many phone calls I finally got them to agree that the drug was approved and in their plan, then they tried to charge me a much higher copay than they had previously told me, so on their advice I applied for a tier exception, and then they sent me letters saying the prescription had been denied again. Throughout the process their customer service has been consistently unknowledgeable and unhelpful. I am very dissatisfied and will definitely find a new plan next year

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Haus Date Rated: 11/16/2014 4:06:29 PM

I do not have most of the complaints other reviewers express. Rightsource mail order of open prescriptions is within the 10-day promise- usually 4-6 days; Rush request when neglecting to refill timely was met with local pharma- it only happened once, but no issue. Pricing is difficult to pin down due to crossover from Tier 1 to Tier 2. Telephon conversation experience can vary with the person - Nothing unusual here. Prescription renewals can be tricky because of poor record keeping. Rightsource can't keep track of which doctor prescribed the last renewal. The website is often wrong and it takes a phone call to start the renewal. DON'T WAIT UNTIL THE LAST MINUTE TO RENEW A PRESSCRIPTION. When reviving an expired, older med, Fill out the Humana-Rightsouce Paperwork for your Doctor !! If all the doc needs to do is add the med, his ID, and Signature, the delay is minimal. New prescriptions are initiated by the doctor's office. If you are unsure of a new med, don't get 90-days worth through Rightsource, pay more for 30-days at a local pharma- they will give a discount for Humana, but they do cast much more still. After reviewing other company plans and complaints, I am sticking with Humana-Rightsource, even if I can't stop those annoying phone renewal calls.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: 7373 Date Rated: 12/21/2013 5:27:28 PM

Just joined the plan in 2013. First drugs ordered Nov., 2013. Decided to stay with the plan because it seemed OK so did NOT change plans during open enrollment which closed Dec. 7, 2013. On Dec. 21, 2013 I received a 10-page Explanation of Benefits that was pretty informative, but way back on page 7 I am informed that one of my two drugs (which costs over $700) will not be covered in 2014. Too late for me to change plans!! They got me!! I recommend you go with another company who deals more fairly with us elderly retirees & doesn't take advantage of their customers.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Artfemme Date Rated: 4/13/2013 9:18:48 AM

I have only been a client for 1 1/2 months. So far I have spent over 25 hours on the phone with no satisfaction. I take 4 medications : 2 for HRT and 2 for my thyroid. The HRT is necessary to support conversion of my thyroid meds, plus I am just now entering menopause. Can't really help that I'm a "late bloomer." So far Humana has denied 3 of the 4 drugs I have taken for years, 2 of them generic...and erroneously according to their own policies. I have filed 2 formal complaints with Medicare about them. The written benefits book is sketchy on the details, but what's worse is that the "customer service' (NOT) reps have information on their computers that differs from what is contained in the benefit book AND the formulary. I've spoken to 6 different people in "pharmacy review" and gotten 6 differing explanations of policy. I finally spoke to a supervisor who admitted this is all their fault, but that I'm STILL required to go through formal grievance and appeals about it. MY gynecologist and my PCP have both spent so much time jumping through hoops with this insurance company ...and then being asked to jump through them again and again for the same issue... that they now refuse to help me further. My doctor has send me copies of questionnaires she received from Humana answered in full and in detail. Humana claims she "neglected to answer questions relating to treatment plan." or that she "refused to respond" to faxes that she never received. RUN................

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: maureenlai Date Rated: 3/28/2013 11:10:25 PM

Humana is totally none human. I guess we got what we paid for. Look for other plans to save yourself grief. Me : Just fax over the consent form. Can you tell me if you have receive it. Humana : No, all fax will take 72 hrs to process. Me: Can I fax or e-mail the form to you right away. Humana: No, all fax will take 72 hrs to process. We don't not take e-mail. Me: Doctor tell us the drug was rejected because the patient is over 65 year of age. Where is this policy stated? Humana: It's not stated specifically. It's a protection of provider and petient. Me: The doctor had faxed the drug approval form to you twice. Have you recieive it? Humana: It takes up to 72 hrs to process doctors request. Me: What is the patient is really ill and need the drug. Humana: Sorry. I can't help until 72 business hrs.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: medicareok Date Rated: 1/25/2012 2:27:38 PM

Humana is the WORST company to deal with. HORRIBLE. It is worth it to pay more for ANY OTHER INSURANCE. It doesn't matter how much you pay, they are the WORST.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: SteveB Date Rated: 11/20/2011 6:42:55 PM

A poor plan. However, if all the drugs you need can be purchased using chain pharmacy generic plan programs at less cost than under this Part D plan, you sign up for this just to stay in the Part D program and not have to pay penalties in future years. This plan has the lowest monthly cost which is cost effective if you don't expect to use the plan.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

Find Best Drug Prices -- Free!
Save money! Compare prescription drug prices for 1,000+ medications.     

 

 

 

Home   Plans & Ratings   PharmacyChecker Blog   Rate Your Plan   Forums   About Us   Contact Us   News   Login

©2019 MedicareDrugPlans.com

This site contains consumer research and information related to Medicare drug plans and is independently developed and operated by PharmacyChecker.com. It is not associated with, endorsed or authorized by any part of the U.S. government. If you would like the official government website for Medicare, visit www.medicare.gov.