Medicare drug plan consumer ratings
Part D Medicare Plan Ratings, Reviews and Forums - NOW UPDATED FOR 2018
 
Medicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan forums
  

Humana Walmart Rx Plan  - CA  (See Reviews of this Plan from Other Regions)
Overall Rating: 

What to expect:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

  
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: summer Date Rated: 3/15/2019 8:50:53 PM

I have had nothing but problems since I switched to Humana from Optum mail order pharmacy. I have problems receiving my medications on time. Their prices changed and they are not paying for a prescription that I was told in the plan is covered. It's easy to get to customer service however they don't know what they are doing. Hopefully the money I save with this plan makes it worth the horrible service they give.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Smilingsenior Date Rated: 11/11/2018 12:13:37 AM

I have been with Humana Walmart Rx Plan since 2014. The first year the premiums and the drug prices were reasonable for Tier 1 and Tier 2 drugs. During the next 3 years most of the drugs that had been Tier 1 drugs were increased to Tier 2 and the monthly co-pay for Tier 2 drugs increased from $4 to $8. Then they switched some of my drugs from Tier 2 to Tier 3 and dropped some of them entirely. Needless to say this year I am not renewing as there are many other drug plans that cover my drugs at a less expensive cost. My experience with customer service has been very disappointing. As long as there are no changes I have no difficulty renewing medications, but if there is the slightest change they seem baffled and unable to cope. I generally have used the mail-order pharmacy but if I have to pick up a medication locally I generally have had to return several times to the pharmacy and contact my physician to make sure that the pharmacy has actually called the office. After several of these situations arose I am throwing in the towel and choosing another plan.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Philosopher7 Date Rated: 10/14/2018 9:46:45 AM

Impossible customer service. They’ll keep transferring you to different departments which contradict each other on costs and coverage. They are only competitive in price on generic drugs. If you have cancer and need brand name medication, good luck! Or if you need pain medication, they’ll put up one obstacle after another. Customer service reps are unknowledgable and seem to enjoy being unhelpful. Stay away!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Shelman Date Rated: 6/18/2015 7:56:33 PM

Most drugs are not covered by Humana and they have very few substitute drugs. The out of pocket cots are very high with a high deductible. Their website is difficult to use and customer service is terrible and the people helping you know very little about their policy except to say to deny.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: jaa Date Rated: 6/15/2015 3:15:16 PM

Almost any drug, either generic or name brand, costs too much. This company apparently does not do a very good job of negotiating costs with drug companies. The monthly fee is low but it doesn't cover much. Using their mail order, Rightsource, has been a nightmare. If the amount to be charged to your credit card is over a certain amount (that amount seems to vary), they will simply hold up the medication and send you a letter (by snail mail even though you've placed the order online and told them to contact you by email). This has resulted in my having to ask my doctor for an emergency supply. The customer service telephone line is terrible. I spend 22 minutes (3 people, a lot of music and a lot of announcements) to get a simple problem taken care of. It still hasn't been resolved and I'm very uneasy about them being able to resolve it. Righsource is indeed a MAIL order service - they do not handle online orders and communications well.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: DrBobS Date Rated: 9/2/2014 4:02:47 PM

Humana Walmart RX is the cheapest plan in terms of premium and deductible. However, they approve almost no drugs not in the limited formulary. So my cost per month for drugs my doctors say there is no substitute for is about $600 per month. The appeals process, as with most part D plans, is a joke. You appeal to the same people who denied coverage in the first place. Also replacing drugs with generic versions usually doesn't save anything with Humana. There is a mail order service which theoretically could save me about $20 a month. However, my doctor charges $30-$70 per drug to fill out the form that Humana uses instead of a prescription. I might save in future years.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Adrine Date Rated: 7/11/2014 7:06:11 PM

It's dirt cheap. if you are on generic low cost maintenance medications then that's fine. But the moment your doctor needs to prescribe anything else, it is costly. Many meds are not covered at all. So it's a tradeoff. You either pay a bit more for better coverage or you pay through the nose if you need a medication not covered. I understand that. But it also says that if you are prescribed a medication not on the formulary that you can submit for consideration. They deny everything. I have learned my lesson. You get what you pay for. I will return to Silverscript this next enrollment period. They were fantastic!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: RobertL39 Date Rated: 6/13/2014 1:17:49 PM

Where to start? Drug price checking online always gives a lower price than what they end up charging. Why? No reason. It just does. Even verbal price checking doesn't match with what gets charged. The drug price checker online says 'technical difficulties--check back later' every other page, but if you re-load the page it works fine. This makes it horribly slow to check anything. My order was "cancelled" but I was not notified by phone or fax; only found out after checking its status online. I called (good luck with that too--terminal waiting). "Oh, you'll get a letter in the mail in a week to 10 days". And that's helpful, how? I have a phone. If they're going to cancel my order for a medication I need, shouldn't they at least let me know? In the drug price checker, the quantities allowed are sometimes non-intelligible. For example, eye drops: "Quantity limit: 3 per 25 days" 3 what? Bottles? CC (only comes in 2.5cc and 5cc bottles)? Drops? The 'smart report' says I'm now in the second stage on the plan (after the deductible), where the plan should pay most of the cost. But I'm still being billed as if I were in the deductible. AAAAAAAARRRRRGGGGHHH!! WORST plan I've ever dealt with. ExpressScripts mail order was simple compared to Humana, whose customer service stinks! Look elsewhere!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

Find Best Drug Prices -- Free!
Save money! Compare prescription drug prices for 1,000+ medications.     

 

 

 

Home   Plans & Ratings   PharmacyChecker Blog   Rate Your Plan   Forums   About Us   Contact Us   News   Login

©2019 MedicareDrugPlans.com

This site contains consumer research and information related to Medicare drug plans and is independently developed and operated by PharmacyChecker.com. It is not associated with, endorsed or authorized by any part of the U.S. government. If you would like the official government website for Medicare, visit www.medicare.gov.