Medicare drug plan consumer ratings
Part D Medicare Plan Ratings, Reviews and Forums - NOW UPDATED FOR 2018
 
Medicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan forums
  

WellCare Classic  - CA  (See Reviews of this Plan from Other Regions)
Overall Rating: 

What to expect:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

  
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Sarah Date Rated: 4/22/2017 8:15:27 PM

WellCare started to be my doctore and staring to instruct the doctors why and what to give me and how many sending letter to one my doctors At end I almost end up in emergency room because the doctor refuse and were Afraid to write my prescription and the pharmacy was not filling them up That dangers this plan is!

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: CARLfrCAL Date Rated: 1/21/2016 5:20:48 PM

I started with Wellcare when it was first available to me (prox.2007). At first the cost was close but a little higher than the local cash prices, but I too wanted a level premium, no deductible, and no co-pay. For several years those premiums raised very little, then they went up triple in like 3 years to $55 /mo. Then they went back to some $30 and started back up to the current $40.70 in short order. In the beginning I used the plan locally. No problem except the erratic DR. for renewals. THEN... 2013 and the classic version. To keep the same expenditures in place it took a change to mail order. The first supplier "exactus" was anything but exact. I never did get it straight and used up nearly all of the accumulated overage not taken occasionally from the past. Then came "cvs - caremark" and I thought it was going to work finally. WRONG... it got worse with time and the erratic DR. didn't help the disaster of the last 8 months. Their excuses were always... waiting for the DR., didn't get the renewal, etc., etc. In Aug.'15 I got a renewal and 3 refills. You might assume I'm good for 9 months. WRONG AGAIN... after the 1st refill the system kicked out that Rx and shortly after changed the medication. Now that may have been an equal, they don't even know. Nov., Dec., and Jan. so far have stress me to the max, taken a total of 6-8 days of time, and been more confusing. Theirs is the worst C.S. I have EVER encountered, including exactus. For 2016 the rates went up for this lovely mess and now there is a $360 deductible on a previous longtime generic that today Walmart gave a cash cost of $10 for 90 day. My copay $20 is now generic tier ! and $0.00. Today I completed an analysis of cash p/u locally from Walmart & Costco (beware big difference on some drugs both sides) and it seems to pencil out as follows: 12 x $41.70 = $500.40 + prox. $192 deductible on 1 Rx = $693. MY cash cost split W/M & Costco = $378, hence a savings of $300.00 +. Can anyone tell me the advantage of WELLCARE??? I'm listening... if I missed something please tell me.!! The ACA act seems to have empowered the greed of "BIG PHARM" and spent more of our money in the process. Drugs have more than doubled in the process. Is this containing the prices or insanity. How much does the Gov't pay Wellcare / CVS_Caremark on top of my cost to give me this "DEAL".??? THEN... a CS from out of country tells me I most likely can get a subsidy from Medicare to off set my losses on this cost change. That my friends is more insanity. Bigger rat-hole, bigger bucket, and faster part time worker. IF I pay my reduced cost in cash locally, have a pharmacy to have local control & conversation with: how much will be saved by my eliminated intitlements(?) be saving "ALL" concerned.??? AND THAT "US" IS YOU AND I. Conservative "OR" liberal what is wrong with this picture. IN 1 week if nobody can tell me something I don't know, I will pay my last premium to WELLCARE to complete the current refills(if that's possible), and have a much less stressful life and count my savings. If you read all of this your a patient / understanding person. THANK YOU... and at least I feel better, and I hope it helps others in this situation also.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Quincy Date Rated: 10/22/2015 2:27:07 PM

I've just surpassed 5 hours in 3 days on the phone with Wellcare and their mail order pharmacy partner, CVS Caremark, over an order I placed on October 1st. Nobody will take responsibility for their screw up and I ran out of the drugs yesterday. I am on my 12th representative and she claims she can resolve the issue. Over 67 years I've seen some poor customer service but this is, by far, the worst. I have all my faculties but wonder how people with limited ability handle these idiots! The icing on the cake today was when the first person I spoke to told me how much "We at Wellcare VALUE our customers". It made me nauseous! I can't believe how irresponsible these people/companies are when dealing with lifesaving and life sustaining medication issues. Thank goodness this happened during Open Enrollment for Medicare so I can try another provider.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: brian michael  Date Rated: 9/30/2015 6:14:38 PM

Basically, the customer service stinks. They are hard to get in contact with, and the operators in India are worthless. They are unresponsive to my needs. And slow to help, if that help arrives at all. It's like they are in another universe.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Jaquee Date Rated: 7/2/2015 2:28:06 PM

My mother was diagnosed with COPD while going thru chemotherapy. The lung specialist gave her a sample of a medication that worked well for her. Wellcare would not approve her getting the medication, she had to fail two other medications first. The first "approved"medication elevated her heart rate, and she already had high blood pressure. The second had a really bad aftertaste that made her nausea worst. When the specialist asked that the original medication--that worked--be prescribed they said she had to try yet another medication. When I called them to discuss I was on hold for 1 hour and 16 minutes and I finally hung up.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: AngryPhramacist Date Rated: 2/28/2015 10:10:25 PM

They raised me up, and then I got higher rates at my regular pharmacy. Customer service stinks, from Indian phone rooms, lies, and raised up premiums, I see my drugs higher, and not as quaity sometimes. My pharmacy not even in Wellcare's perferred and they've been the best so far, unlike Walgreens Rite Aid, etc.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: bear Date Rated: 10/27/2014 7:39:08 PM

I have subscribed to a number of plans, and I found this one to be the most efficient. The mail order service had the fastest delivery of any plan I had, and there was no problem with it. The only negative I experienced with the plan has been the fact that most of my drugs are on a 30 day basis, while other plans offered more of my drugs on a 90 day basis. Otherwise, this is the best of all the plans I have been on.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Disappointed1 Date Rated: 7/2/2014 12:31:07 AM

Rarely got drugs to me in time. Website was always broken, or showed wrong information. Customer service was useless. Co-pay for insulin was outrageous.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: luckyboy13 Date Rated: 11/13/2012 7:20:35 PM

Dorctors too often have to justify drug. Paramacies are often given the wrong information.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

Find Best Drug Prices -- Free!
Save money! Compare prescription drug prices for 1,000+ medications.     

 

 

 

Home   Plans & Ratings   PharmacyChecker Blog   Rate Your Plan   Forums   About Us   Contact Us   News   Login

©2019 MedicareDrugPlans.com

This site contains consumer research and information related to Medicare drug plans and is independently developed and operated by PharmacyChecker.com. It is not associated with, endorsed or authorized by any part of the U.S. government. If you would like the official government website for Medicare, visit www.medicare.gov.