Medicare drug plan consumer ratings
Part D Medicare Plan Ratings, Reviews and Forums - NOW UPDATED FOR 2018
 
Medicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan ratingsMedicare drug plan forums
  

WellCare Classic  - IA, MN, MT, NE, ND, SD, WY  (See Reviews of this Plan from Other Regions)
Overall Rating: 

What to expect:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

  
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: NEtickedoff Date Rated: 1/31/2017 6:23:20 PM

I am now on hold on 2 phones for 30 minutes on one and 20 minutes on another. WellCare Part D has pulled a BAIT AND SWITCH. The annual out of pocket quoted during the sign-up period was $1,143.39. We had 2 Tier 4 drugs. When we filled the first prescriptions in January, 2017, the price for the drugs during the deductible was $150.34 during the deductible period, and $66.15, and $76.67 during the coverage gap. The original quote was $39.14 during the deductible period, and $17.22, thereafter until the courage gap when it became $19.96. The new annual out of pocket (premium plus copay) is $2,410.28. So there is an increase of approximately $1,300. We signed up in December, 2016 and filled the prescriptions in January, 2017. I'm still on hold, waiting for a "US representative". I do not anticipate that they will correct this. Our solution is to elect to change to a 5 star plan, the only change exception for which we qualify. That will save us $250 compared to our new BAIT AND SWITCH price. If it were possible to give them NO STARS, I would. Very dissatisfied doesn't quite get it.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: Ginger49 Date Rated: 2/19/2016 11:57:04 AM

WellCare has the worst Customer Service or should I say no Customer Service. I started dealing with WellCare in Nov 2015 regarding my 2016 Drug Plan. Set up a auto pay online because I was going to be away from home for the winter. Called in Dec. 2015 and was told everything was set up. Called again the first part of Jan. 2016 to make sure there was nothing else I had to do. Each call I was put on hold for 45 minutes. When I called in Jan. and asked to speak to a Supervisor that never happened. Now in Feb. I am out of the Country and made a International Call because I noted my auto pay is not being processed. I was put on hold again for 30 minutes (International Call). I have emailed, called numerous times and also did a message per Facebook. I continue to get no replies or answers. The Drug Plan is OK but the Customer Service is very poor. For 2017 Drug Plan I will pay more so I do not have to deal with this company. I can only imagine what issues I would have with the Drug Plan is I had issues with a medication.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: beefo Date Rated: 1/20/2016 2:20:00 PM

I had Wellcare for a year from Dec. 2014 to Jan. 1 2015 and am very unhappy with the customer service. There basically is NONE. I had a $40.00 charge from their Exactus Pharmacy,placed to my credit card in March, three months after I was even enrolled in their plan!!! After contacting them and being placed on hold for most of the morning the issue is still not resolved. Sorry I ever heard of Wellcare.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: sunshinemt Date Rated: 8/22/2014 6:41:03 PM

This pharmacy is the most unprofessional company that I have ever dealt with. I take care of my mother-in-law, she is unable to call the pharmacy so I sent an official power of attorney about a year ago. I even confirmed that they had received it. A couple of months ago, we received a prescription that was not correct. After I finally got a 'real' person on the phone, I discovered that Exactus, upon receiving a new rx for her had opened a new account for my mother-in-law. It took 3 phone calls and 3 plus hours of time to get them to merge the two accounts. They also said that there was no power of attorney on file. I was very polite at first, but as the hours went by, I became quit upset. I had to send my poa again and I did have proof from the first time, but never got an apology. I thought that this was all fixed until last week when my m-in-law's doctor said that they received her rx in the mail. Now, I never changed the shipping address. So, back on the phone today, two hours and lots of confusion, Exactus opened up another account! They shipped the meds to the doctors office and, on their own, changed our shipping address to our doctors office address. All without my permission. I am still not sure that these problems are fixed. Oh, they also changed my phone number a couple of weeks ago. I am going to look in to using a local pharmacy and never using this one again.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: dakota13 Date Rated: 2/26/2014 4:33:14 PM

I have had this coverage for two months with one prescription filled at one of the pharmacies on their list. I was charged full price. The customer service rep for Wellcare had much trouble understanding my English. I had more problems with her dialect. It took 3 times of spelling my medication before she got it correctly. The explanation was that it is a a tier 2 drug. This is a GENERIC medication. To receive this at the discounted price, I was steered to Exactus on line pharmacy (because we live 2 hours from any in store pharmacy). When I asked the Exactus rep how much my prescription was going to cost, she said she could not release that information, that the pricing was up to Wellcare. So before I applied for the on line service, I decided to do a search on line of customer service provided by Exactus. Well, the service through Exactus has many poor customer service ratings. So I guess I made a huge mistake in choosing Wellcare Classic. I will have to pay my 12 months of $23.00 coverage each month to Wellcare, pay full price for my medications at my local trusted pharmacy, and the end of the year will find me in a much more intense search for quality prescription coverage without the loopholes.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use
Overall Rating:
MDP Member: jmcg Date Rated: 10/23/2012 2:45:27 PM

The plan charged me many times the amount shown on their and Medicare's websites for a medication. I sent them the online data I made my choice from. They just continued (probably 12 times by phone and letter) to say the same thing: they weren't going to change. When I gave up and said so to a rep, I got a letter saying my grievance had been resolved. I think they're dishonest; don't trust the info they provide online when you're choosing a Plan D plan.

My rating for this plan:
  Information
  Service
  Choice of Drugs
  Cost of Plan
  Ease of Use

Find Best Drug Prices -- Free!
Save money! Compare prescription drug prices for 1,000+ medications.     

 

 

 

Home   Plans & Ratings   PharmacyChecker Blog   Rate Your Plan   Forums   About Us   Contact Us   News   Login

©2019 MedicareDrugPlans.com

This site contains consumer research and information related to Medicare drug plans and is independently developed and operated by PharmacyChecker.com. It is not associated with, endorsed or authorized by any part of the U.S. government. If you would like the official government website for Medicare, visit www.medicare.gov.